17 Ingredients, Measures of Autonomy


Studio One, 65 – 71 Scrutton Street London EC2A 4PJ

Opening: Thursday 1 October 2009

Duration: 1 October – 4 October 2009

Curated by: Shama Khanna and Blanch Craig

Exhibition catalogue, texts by Shama Khanna, Dean Kenning and Christopher Kul-Want, Studio One, London, 2009, ISBN 978-0-9563504-0-4


17 Ingredients: Measures of Autonomy is a group exhibition showcasing the work of recent MA graduates from Byam Shaw College, London. The exhibition at Studio One is the first to present works by the artists in a space independent from the college, suggesting new directions for each practice, each one part of a thriving whole.

The show is the result of a productive process that has involved, by necessity, a collaborative approach to working. At the same time the artists have been engaged in refining a sense of autonomy in their work – in advance of its presentation within the wider context of visual culture – thus ensuring an exceptional richness meaning produced by their works – a meaning that always oscillates between transparency and dissolution. Just as intellectual and creative exchange exists amongst the artists, this flux in meaning is experienced across and between the works in the show.

7 Ingredients: Measures of Autonomy highlights the transition of the artists’ practice from within the institution to the outside world. It treads a line between finding shared themes, while also highlighting the problems in doing so with such a seemingly disparate group of artists. The exhibition highlights the almost arbittary way in which the artists have found themselves thrown together but, conversely, how they are essential elements to the collective outcome. 

A fully illustrated catalogue, with the essays by Shama Khanna, Dean Kenning and Chris Kul – Want, will be published to accompany the exhibition.



Participating artists:

Catarina Albuquerque, Maurice Citron, Catrine Bodum, Nathan Eastwood, Douglas Mark Ebbage, Beate Frommelt, Rodrigo Garcia Dutra, Georgina Hathway,Luisa Jacinto, Mathilde Jensen, Anthony Lyttle, Frauke Materlik, Heather McReynolds, Simao Palmeirim Costa, Brian Putman, Liam Ryan,   Katerina Zafeiropoulou.